Sustainability

Task Force

Welcome!

The Sustainability Task Force (STF) is a self-initiated group of faculty and staff dedicated to developing a strategy for a culture of sustainability at Highline College. 

 

Highline College Green Week 2019

Oct. 28th thru Nov. 2nd 2019

Green-Week-2018

STF has been working diligently to provide the campus with another great line-up of events for Green Week 2019!

And here it is...

Monday

October 28, 2019

Campus Clean-Up 1: 

11:00am-12:00pm

Facilitators: Tracy Brigham and Rhiannon Hillman

Rain or shine. Meet on east side of Building 8.

Campus Clean-Up 2:

12:15pm-1:15pm

Facilitators: Tracy Brigham and Rhiannon Hillman

Rain or shine. Meet on east side of Building 8.

Tuesday

October 29, 2019

Labeling and Consumer Choices:

9:00am-9:50am

Presenter Lonnie Somer. Building 8, Mt. Constance Room

Sound Transit: Station Design:

11:00am-11:50am

Facilitator James Peyton. Building 8, Mt Constance Room

Walking Tour of Highline Growing Spaces:

12:15pm-1:15pm

Presenter Bobby Butler. Meet at Campus Garden, next to Building 21

Thursday

October 31, 2019

Sustainable Chocolate: The Hidden Truth of Chocolate:

10:00am-2:00pm

Facilitator Tracy Brigham. Drop by Building 8 Foyer.

Sample free chocolate and learn more. 

Sustainable Business:

10:00am-10:50am

Presenter Shawna Freeman. Building 7

Friday

November 1, 2019

Toxins in Your Community:

10:00am-10:50am

Facilitator Woody Moses and Kent Palosaari. Building 8, Mt. Constance Room

Science Seminar: The Science of Climate Change:

1:30pm-2:35 pm

Presenter Jacob Selander. Building 3-102

Saturday

November 2, 2019:

Ocean pH in and around the Port of Prince Rupert:

12:00 pm

Presenter Dr. Paul Covert.Physical Scientist Department Fisheries Oceans Canada. Marine and Science Technology Center (MaST): 28203 Redondo Beach Drive S

CONTACT 

Sustainability Task Force Email Address

sustainability@mailman.highline.edu (primary contact)

 

 

Sustainability Task Force Members

Woody Moses, Biology Faculty, wmoses@highline.edu

James Peyton, Economics/Statistics Faculty, jpeyton@highline.edu

Mary Boldt, Adult Basic Education Faculty, mboldt@highline.edu

Tracy Brigham, Health Faculty, tbrigham@highline.edu

Samad Chakour, Business Faculty, schakour@highline.edu

Adrienne Cochran, Philosophy Faculty, acochran@highline.edu

Shawna Freeman, Business Faculty, sfreeman@highline.edu

Rhiannon Hillman, English Faculty, rhillman@highline.edu

Jennifer Ritchey, Global Education Program Manager, jritchey@highline.edu

Rick Shultz, ACHIEVE Faculty, rshultz@highline.edu

Lonnie Somer, Anthropology Faculty, lsomer@highline.edu

Kevin Stanley, Economics Faculty, kstanley@highline.edu